A Season of Prayer for Sudan

One of my heroes in putting faith in action  is Marian Wright Edelman. One of my favorite quotes from her writing, a quote distilled from the wisdom gained by experience is this

Often we procrastinate and make excuses for our inaction, depression, and despair. It’s not the right time. I can’t make a difference. Whatever I do won’t matter. It’s not my business. It’s somebody else’s turn. Nobody will pay attention. It’s overwhelming–my little bit doesn’t matter.
We must struggle with ourselves and ask God’s forgiveness and help to keep being useful in small ways. And we must remember that it is always the right time to do right. Guide My Feet: Prayers and Meditations on Loving and Working for Children (Boston: Beacon Press, 1995) p. 136

I was made aware this week of our Presiding Bishop’s invitation to initiate a Season of prayer for Sudan. It is my hope that you will join me in Prayer-Study-Action for the children, women and men who seek to change the cycle of violence and suffering in their country. Here is a chance to make our “little bit” matter as we do what is right.

In solidarity with our brothers and sisters in Sudan, the presiding bishop of the Episcopal Church, the Most Reverend Katharine Jefferts Schori, has called for a season of prayer for Sudan. The Archbishop of the Episcopal Church in Sudan, the Most Reverend Daniel Deng Bul, has issued a call to prayer.

Sudan, and the region of Darfur within it, have suffered years of civil war and genocide. An important referendum on the future of Sudan and on self-determination for the people there is scheduled for January 9, 2011. But there is no guarantee that this referendum will occur peacefully. In fact, there is every indication that violence and perhaps civil war will break out again following the referendum, no matter what the outcome. From the website A Season of Prayer for Sudan

Please visit the website for more information and for inspiration: A Season of Prayer for Sudan

  • In the Study section of the website you will find additional links to help you learn more about the history of violence in Sudan, efforts to find peace, and inspiration for your own work on behalf of brothers and sisters you may never meet.
  • In the Act section you will find important addresses to make your views known and to make your advocacy heard.
  • Here is the letter from the Presiding Bishop inviting your prayer, study, and action


7 thoughts on “A Season of Prayer for Sudan

  1. Dearest Dan,

    I can’t tell you how your writing hit me. They “hit” me in every sense of my being. The first paragraph, by Marion Wright …. is who I have unfortunatlely become since John died. I really felt I was healed in the spring and through the summer of this year, but in the past few months I feel like I’m back in the Dark Night of the Soul, which I had never heard of until I read the Solitude chapt. in Celbrating Discipline By Foster in April of 2009, two years after John died.

    I thought I would heal quickly, but what a HUGE SURPRISE God had for me. I did realize He was in charge of my progress and He was teaching me to Be Still and Know I Am God.” Being still was never a part of Barbara Brandt. Being on the go and doing was who I was. I no longer care about being on the go and as a result I need to put my house on the market and look for HUD housing.

    When I think of what you hsve gone through and the little I know of how very strong you are becoming, I become so angry with myself.

    I had a triple by-pass 10 years ago, and I’m in great shape for 71 and one who has been inactive since John died.

    I also believe the friendships I’ve haad for so many years are waning. I have a feeling that God is separating me from others to gett me to focus more on Him. I’ve had a very loving relationsship with Him since a small child, so I don’t know what is going on.

    I think I decided to write a paragraph to you sas many are tired of listening to me, which I do understand. I pray this is the last one you have to read through. You may be blessed by your family and they will delete it.

    Love you so much and get so excited to see your pictures on various sites.

    Much love,

    Barb

  2. Pingback: The largest country in Africa « Father Dan's Blog

  3. Pingback: St. Andrew « Father Dan's Blog

  4. Pingback: Looking beyond your marriage « From This Day Forward

  5. Pingback: Continuing in prayer, study, action « Father Dan's Blog

  6. Pingback: What to do… « Father Dan's Blog

  7. Pingback: May 16: The Martyrs of the Sudan « Father Dan's Blog

Comment or leave a reply: what are your thoughts?

