Friday, December 3, 2010

The rainbow, a promiseNot a very creative title, but I needed to start to write; words on the screen, get them going and let’s see what happens next.

I continue to think about the season we are in as Episcopalians: Advent. It is a strange kind of season. It begins with scriptural texts about light and darkness, the end of the world and being ready, being prepared, trusting that the One who has made promises will fulfill them–in time, at just the right time. It gradually progresses into promises of a Messiah and we begin to retell the story of Mary’s pregnancy. We wait. We know (something of) Bethlehem. We wait for we believe that the One who loves us will return as promised. As proof we find Jesus returning in the most unlikely places and at the least likely times a foretaste of what is to come.

Searching through words and wisdom copied in days past I came across this:

This summer is not the first time I have walked through the place of excrement and found love’s mansion there. Indeed, we are more likely to find it in the place of excrement than in the sterile places. God comes where there is pain and brokenness, waiting to heal, even if the healing is not the physical one we hope for. Madeleine L’Engle quoted in Glimpses of Grace.

Certainly I know the truth of her writing. I know the truth of so many holy women and men that the One who promises to be with us always is trustworthy. It was true, it is true, it always will be true. Trust. Especially in the Valley of the Shadow of death, in the dry desert, in the midst of storm tossed seas, in the place of excrement–God, Love, with us. I speak from what I know. I speak from where I am now.

There are so many questions I have, so many I ask. The mystery-Love-that I encounter makes the asking worthwhile. The waiting and wondering fills me better than anything this world can give. I need this season of expectant waiting.

This is where Friday, December 3, 2010 is taking me.

______________________

L’Engle, Madeleine, Chase, Carole F. Glimpses of Grace: Daily Thoughts and Reflections. San Francisco, CA: HarperSanFrancisco, 1996.

One thought on “Friday, December 3, 2010

Comment or leave a reply: what are your thoughts?

