A Great Cloud of Witnesses – 25 Jan 2011

Today I begin an occasional series in this blog. The inspiration comes from years of ministry in which I have encountered men and women, children and youth, who have inspired my faith, instructed my heart, and given me encouragement (often without knowing it).

A foundation for the series was written centuries ago by the author of the Letter to the Hebrews: “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” (Hebrews 12:1 NIV)

The “cloud of witnesses” extends beyond space and time to include those spoken of in the Letter to the Hebrews, to include those who believed what was written and lived what they believed, and today includes those who are now living what they believe–people in our own lives who give witness to faith and encourage us (especially by example) to do the same.

In my posts I intend to pick a quote (1) whose truth has come to life for me through the “ministry” of one of the witnesses in this great cloud. Within my quiet, within my heart, as often as possible, I will name a person I have actually encountered, and give thanks. (2)  I will invite you to look into the cloud of witnesses in your own life and do the same.

It is my hope that each of us will be better able, with this  grace, to “run with perseverance the race marked out for us;” maybe we will even become part of this great cloud of witnesses for those we encounter along the way.

Today’s quote: “We can’t control our destiny, but we can control who we become.” -Anne Frank (3)

Invitation to you and me: be still, let the cloud of witnesses envelop you, find your witness or witnesses who lived/are living this truth, give thanks for their presence in your life, go on now with encouragement and renewed energy

Run with endurance the race set before you____________
(1) I intend to use quotes from many different sources, not just the Bible.
(2) My own life is better and richer by the touch of individuals I have met over the years, including the witness of historical figures, (called by the Episcopal Church “Holy Women, Holy Men“); which is to say, my cloud includes men and women (both living and dead) whom I’ve actually met and whom I’ve “only met” through the written word and art. All of them have informed my own race and encouraged me to keep going.
(3) Quoted in Word for the Day 20 January 2011 on Gratefulness.org
NIV – New International Version of the Bible found on Bible Study Tools
Picture of the start of the London Marathon from zimbio.com
5 thoughts on “A Great Cloud of Witnesses – 25 Jan 2011

  1. Pingback: A Great Cloud of Witnesses – 26 Jan 2011 « Father Dan's Blog

  2. Pingback: A Great Cloud of Witnesses – 29 Jan. 2011 « Father Dan's Blog

  3. Pingback: A Great Cloud of Witnesses – 6 Feb 2011 « Father Dan's Blog

  4. Pingback: A Great Cloud of Witnesses – 8 Feb 2011 « Father Dan's Blog

  5. Pingback: A Great Cloud of Witnesses – 10 Apr 2011 « Father Dan's Blog

Comment or leave a reply: what are your thoughts?

