Do all you can

Do all you can

How many of your “teachers” are people you have never met? How many of your teachers are persons you will never meet in this life? One word answer for me: “Plenty.” Longer answer: so numerous they are like the stars in the sky. I am grateful to be alive in this “Digital Age.”

One of my teachers, Nkosi Johnson, is a young boy who died in 2001 at the age of 12. Not only is he a teacher (I hear his wisdom frequently and have used one powerful teaching in my “About” note on Twitter), but he is also one of my heros: I hope to be as courageous and loving as this boy “when I grow up.”

The “Word for the Day” on 3 August 2010 was this: “Do all you can with what you have in the time you have in the place you are.” It was Nkosi’s final word to an interviewer (a well-traveled, accomplished, and much older reporter).

A few simple words, filled with a wisdom far beyond his years, crackling with a power that comes from knowledge gained by experience. I hope that you will read more about Nkosi. I hope that you may welcome him into your life as a teacher and hero and even a saint.

Read more about Nkosi

One boy’s heroism in the face of AIDS – the interview on NPR from which the Nkosi’s was spoken

Nkosi Johnson – the write up about Nkosi on the My Hero Website

Comment or leave a reply: what are your thoughts?

